2021 ACM History Fellowship Winners Announced

Congratulations to 2021 ACM History Fellowship Winners! Kanyinsola Obayan, M.I.T., Bonnie Mitchell and Jan Searleman, Bowling Green State University and Clarkson University, Don Gotterbarn, Professor Emeritus of East Tennessee State University, Zach Loeb, University of Pennsylvania, and Gloria Townsend, DePauw University. Past winners and their proposal titles can be found here.

Video Clips of Turing Laureates for Class Use

The ACM History Committee invites educators and students to augment course content in CS education with a new resource: short video segments from interviews with A. M. Turing Award laureates. These video clips were curated by Thomas Haigh and are taken from longer oral history interviews with the laureates. Each clip highlights the work and […]

Call for Proposals: 2021 History Fellowships

The Association for Computing Machinery, founded in 1947, is the oldest and largest educational and scientific society dedicated to the computing profession, and today has 100,000 members around the world. To encourage historical research, the ACM History Committee plans to support up to four research projects with awards of up to $4,000 each. Successful candidates may be of any […]

A.M. Turing Award Winners’ Oral History Short Videos

As part of the committee’s work to conduct oral history interviews with Turing Award winners, Tom Haigh (Univ. of Wisconsin – Milwaukee) has extracted a number of short videos from those interviews. These videos highlight interesting parts of the winners’ work or career. We expect that these videos can help educational computing programs not only […]